LA 4-1: RSS Feeds

I was a bit surprised to see we would be learning about RSS feeds in this class.  RSS is an outdated technology, originally created in 1999 for Netscape Navigator.  The latest software release for RSS was way back in 2009. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RSS#Current_usage).  Many internet browsers and applications have long since stopped supporting RSS feeds natively, which is why you get a bunch of strange looking code when you try to subscribe to a feed.

In my opinion, setting up an RSS feed in something like The Old Reader is a complicated mess.  I can’t imagine spending my time looking through random postings about topics I may or may not be interesting in.  It’s like doing a Google search for 20 different topics all at once.  RSS feeds are an inefficient way of looking for information.  Using RSS instead of just looking up information directly is like scrolling through Facebook trying to find out what your friend Bob is up to, rather than just giving him a call.

With that off my chest, I did subscribe to a number of computer-science related topics, such as “AP Computer Science A”,  “Learning Java”, and “Google Sheets” to look for ideas and materials for my classroom.  I also subscribed to “James Webb Telescope” and “NASA” just for fun to see images from the new James Webb telescope.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *